Griffith's Valuation: Ballymoney Parish, County Derry

You are here - Irish Genealogy Hub - Derry Genealogy - Ballymoney Griffiths Valuation

Griffith's Valuation in Ballymoney Parish

Griffith ’s Valuation took place in Ballymoney parish and every other parish in county Derry / Londonderry as well as throughout Ireland. Griffith's valuation is the name widely given to the Primary Valuation of Ireland, a property tax survey carried out in the mid-nineteenth century under the supervision of Sir Richard Griffith. The survey involved the detailed valuation of every taxable piece of agricultural or built property on the island of Ireland and was published county-by-county between the years 1847 and 1864.

The process of valuation was painstakingly thorough, involving multiple visits by valuation teams to analyse all of the factors influencing the economic status of the property: average rents paid in the area; distance from the nearest market town. The aim was to get as accurate as possible an estimate of the annual income that each property should produce. The Griffiths Valuation was carried out in county Londonderry / Derry in 1858 and 1859.


PLEASE Like and Share this page so others can benefit from our free genealogy records

Help the Derry Genealogy Team

Like all the other county records published in this site, the Derry Genealogy documents are free to anyone wishing to research them. However it takes both time and money for the team to produce such a vast amount of data for all who visit this genealogy site.

The Derry / Londonderry genealogy team welcome all donations no matter how large or small and every donation is used for further research and travel costs. You can safely donate to the Derry team by clicking the button below.

All donations are handled by Paypal and is completely safe and secure to use.


HIGHLY Recommended British and Irish Genealogy Sources!


County Derry / Londonderry Genealogy Message Board

Griffiths Valuation: Ballymoney Parish 1858 and 1859

If you wish to share any county Derry Genealogy records with us then email us

Search tip for most web browsers: press Ctrl and F and enter surname or search term. If you are researching particular townlands or areas of this parish, then we suggest that you also use the Ctrl F option in your web browser.

You should also check the records of Ballymoney parish from the Tithe Applotment books in the 1820's and 1830's as well as the Griffith's Valuation of Ballymoney Parish in county Antrim



KEY:   L: = Location     N: = Notes     V: = Village     T: = Town     C: = City

Anderson, William L: Ballywindelland Upper
Blackly, John L: Seacon Lower
Boyd, Alex. L: Ballywindelland Upper
Boyd, John L: Ballywindelland Upper
Boyd, Samuel L: Ballywindelland Upper
Campbell, Rep. Wm. W. L: Ballywindelland Lower
Campbell, Rep. Wm. W. L: Ballywindelland Upper
Collins, John L: Ballywindelland Upper
Colvin, Thomas L: Ballywindelland Upper
Cromie, John L: Ballygan Upper
Cromie, John L: Heagles
Cromie, John L: Mackfinn Lower
Cromie, John L: Seacon Lower
Doherty, Robert L: Ballywindelland Lower
Doherty, Robert L: Ballywindelland Upper
Easel, James L: Ballywindelland Upper
Gage, Marcus L: Colebreene Lower
Gage, Marcus L: Mackfinn Lower
Getty, James L: Heagles
Getty, John L: Heagles
Hannell, Daniel L: Heagles
Jameson, Jane L: Ballywindelland Upper
Jameson, Samuel L: Ballywindelland Upper
McKeogh, Andrew L: Ballywindelland Lower
McNab, Daniel L: Ballywindelland Lower
McNab, James L: Ballywindelland Lower
McNaught, Francis L: Ballywindelland Upper
Miller, James L: Ballywindelland Upper
Moore, James S. L: Seacon More
Mulholland, Joseph L: Ballywindelland Upper
Mulholland, Robert L: Ballywindelland Upper
Nevin, James L: Colebreene Lower
Pinkerton, Adam L: Seacon More
Stewart, Charles L: Colebreene Lower N: Sec
Stewart, Chas. L: Mackfinn Lower N: Secretary Rw
White, Jane L: Mackfinn Lower
White, Robert L: Ballywindelland Lower

Map of Civil Parishes in county Derry

Civil Parishes of County Derry

Griffiths Valuation - Other Derry Parishes

1 Aghadowey

2 Aghanloo

3 Agivey

4 Arboe

5 Artrea

6 Ballinderry

7 Ballyaghran

8 Ballymoney

9 Ballynascreen

10 Ballyrashane

11 Ballyscullion

12 Ballywillin

13 Balteagh

14 Banagher

15 Bovevagh

16 Carrick

17 Clondermot

18 Coleraine

19 Cumber Lower

20 Cumber Upper

21 Derryloran

22 Desertlyn

23 Desertmartin

24 Desertoghill

25 Drumachose

26 Dunboe

27 Dungiven

28 Errigal

29 Faughanvale

30 Kilcronaghan

31 Kildollagh

32 Killelagh

33 Killowen

34 Kilrea

35 Learmount

36 Lissan

37 Macosquin

38 Maghera

39 Magherafelt

40 Magilligan

41 Tamlaght

42 Tamlaght Finlagan

43 Tamlaght O Crilly

44 Templemore

45 Termoneeny